Stuck in the doldrums of literature…

So I haven’t finished a book in…ooh, four months? I know, I know. But hear me out. I’ve started so many books, but then I always get interrupted with life: uni, chores, friends. Not that I mind, but I wish I could just finish a book for once. I think once I finish a book, I’ll get back into the swing of things, and perhaps be able to keep my attention focussed long enough to read more.

See, I’ll start a book, read maybe 250 pages, then leave it for a few days (or weeks, whatever) and when I come back to it, I feel lost and confused — but not bothered to start it again. I’m a slow reader; I can admit this freely and without shame. However, it does frustrate me that to enjoy a book (even only a slim one) can take me up to a week, and that’s without reading anything else.

Image

Maybe not THIS slow…

I’ve decided to put away all the books I’d started on, and to just begin afresh. It made me feel so much better. I didn’t realise the pile of books was haunting me so much. If you’re interested, the books I’ve started (some of which I’ve even read over half of) include (but are not limited to):

And yesterday I started E.M. Forster‘s Howards End, but got distracted by a second hand bookstore in a hospital and am now reading Robert Cormier‘s I am the Cheese. Not to mention that I’ve got about a dozen more books to read for uni for next semester. So much for a break. When will this madness stop?

Image

And I read faster than this statue does. I think…

Does anyone else have this problem? Please tell me I’m not the only one! (Comments and/or encouragement would be more than welcome.)

6 thoughts on “Stuck in the doldrums of literature…

  1. Howards End, I can only congratulate you for this choice ; )
    You’re not the only one to suffer from the interrupted-reading syndrome; and I think there’s nothing more frustrating than being overwhelmed by tons of books to go through for uni while reading should be a pleasure before anything else… Why don’t you try to spend the afternoon in a café to finish one of them? Actually this could even inspire some writing, ‘the mysterious young man who reads at the table”… Try to enjoy it anyways!

    • Haha, I might just do that! 😛 But unfortunately there are no cafés (what’s the plural of café in French?) near me. The closest would be about twenty minutes drive away. But it sounds like a grand idea 😀
      And Howards End is great, I just got distracted…I will definitely get back to it. (I started it because of you!)

      • Cafés is the plural, you got that one well 🙂 But maybe you can improvise one anywhere you like, bringing your own drink – I feel like drinking something every time I’m reading, it’s almost like a social behaviour. And what’s best than tea with the quintessential English work of Forster…

      • Ah good, I wasn’t sure if English had butchered another foreign word. Wouldn’t be the first time…
        You make an excellent point. I might just brew myself some tea now 😀

  2. If it is any consolation, I have 4 books to read that I haven’t even considered yet (one of which was given to me by a ‘friend’* from university). I probably should get around to it, but everything is in the way D:

    **friend – someone that I really don’t know much about but proceeded to find me on facebook and hand me a book.

I'd love to hear from you...if you're real...

