Some me in the absence of me

So…it’s been a while now since I’ve posted something. And I still don’t quite have the time to post a whole, er, something, so I’m posting this video of me last July, that my friend edited and put up on her YouTube account a few months ago. Because I’m being fashionably late, you see.

Basically, I shaved my hair to raise money for breast cancer (I raised $160, which was alright, but not as much as I’d hoped), and if you feel like laughing at my awkward self, then go right ahead and enjoy the video!

Also, in other news, uni is going swimmingly (apart from assignments — but that’s to be expected), and I’m currently reading We Need to Talk About Kevin which is utterly amazing and a complete work of art (I say, only 180 pages in — proof enough that I’m smitten), and have nearly finished Buffy season five / Angel season two (oh, the dramz! the feelz!). But anyway, what are you guys reading/watching? Anything particularly awesome you want to rave about? (Leave a comment, because I love replying to them!)

27 thoughts on “Some me in the absence of me

  1. I have MANY THINGS TO SAY. A., “We Need To Talk About Kevin” is a brilliant, brilliant book, and it just keeps getting better – it’s been years since I’ve read it and I STILL think about it sometimes. B. BUFFY AND ANGEL! Is it your first watch of both, or a rewatch? And have you seen “Firefly?” Because if not, that should be next in your Whedonfest.

    I have to go to work so I can’t watch you being shorn for charity, boo. Later, when I get home.

    • Wow, I really love books that make you think, and this one makes me think about it when I’m not reading it (and I’m obviously not a mother) so I think that’s definitely a sign of brilliant writing.
      It’s my first watch of both, but it’s AWESOME. I can’t believe I’ve never watched them before, but to be fair, I think this is the right time for me to watch them. If I was any younger, I think I’d miss a lot of the jokes and wouldn’t be able to relate as well to the characters. I’ve heard of ‘Firefly’, and now it’s on the list for after ‘Buffy’ and ‘Angel’ 😀
      (The video’s not a must-watch, just something I put up because I’m feeling particularly overwhelmed right now, and haven’t read a book that I can review for a while, but enjoy if you do happen to watch 🙂 )

      • I’m a lot older than you are, and didn’t watch them until…let’s see. Buffy started when I was starting grad school, so 22? (Yes. I’m pretty sure I’m old enough to be your mom. DON’T RUB IT IN.) But I agree, if I’d been too much younger, I’d have missed a lot of the jokes and such, so it was at just the right age for me.

        I put off Firefly for a very long time, because I wasn’t (and still am not) into science fiction. But finally after all the people I love and trust told me I had to watch it, I did…and oh, was I mad at myself I put it off for so long. One of the best series of all time.

        And I totally watched the video, and you are adorable, and it made me laugh.

      • *resisting urge to not rub it in that I was born in ’94 and you could quite conceivably be my mother…not very well, I might add*
        I do enjoy some sci-fi, but don’t watch/read it very often. Firefly sounds very interesting, according to IMDb’s description. You’ve convinced me completely 😀
        Thanks, and I’m glad it made you laugh. Laughing is like chicken soup for the soul, no?

      • 1994. I was a college junior in 1994. Good grief. Sooooo old.

        Firefly is sci-fi and western and drama all rolled into one. It’s brilliant. You’ll love it!

      • Old is just a word. You’re wiser and more mature and have more experience than I. This is a good thing. Neither of us knows how much closer to death we are than each other — I’m aware that sentence is clunky, but I hope it’s meaning still comes through.
        Ooh, I love stuff that defies genre!

    • Thanks Ed! You should definitely do it…and don’t wait for me!! I don’t think I’ll be able to get to Europe for quite some time, but I’d love to see pictures and/or a video!

    • Haha! Thanks! I’ve got longish hair at the moment – well, longer than I normally have it. It’s not quite shoulder-length, but it’s getting there.
      How long’s your hair now?

      • It’s wavy/messy/Bellatrix Lestrange-like most of the time so it depends on the day, but if you pull it straight, it comes down to my waist… (And yes, I had to check in front of the mirror!)

  2. Well, managing is for the weak, I just let it be! Or I gave up years ago, rather… But it’s patiently waiting for you 🙂
    You should let yours grow as well until we meet!

  3. Or even better: you could shave your head again and record it just for me as a private video/preview of what I’m going for! 😉

      • Ah too bad, it would be pretty cool though…
        I just realised that it’s been a year since we started to exchange messages but I’ve never heard your voice, which now strikes me as odd!

      • Yes, same here! It’s weird to think about. I feel like I know you, but I’ve never really seen you or talked to you properly. Very odd, but also kind of cool!

  4. And quite scary too. This is the kind of situation that would end up with you disliking me once you see me for real, and preferring instead to read and write instead of talk… And I won’t even mention the French accent!

    • I find that highly unlikely! For one thing, I love French accents, and, for another, one of my closest friends (Clare) I didn’t actually see face-to-face for several months after we met through a mutual friend. And now we’re very close!
      So I’m sure I’d love to talk to you in real life!

    • Tell you what, here’s my last brilliant idea before going to sleep: if you, mighty creative writer, ever want to produce something different, you could always try to write how you imagine the day we’ll meet! I’d be more than happy to read it 🙂

      • I might just do that! I’m a bit busy at the moment, but if I’m ever in a writing mood and need a bit of an exercise to do, I think I will give that a shot! 😀

I'd love to hear from you...if you're real...

